top of page

The Silly, Silly, (Very Silly), YouTube Comedy Has Ruined it for us Elite Comedy Writers

My parents grew up with Charlie Chaplin and The Marx Brothers.

I grew up with Fast Times at Ridgemont High and Airplane.

Today, I hear laughter from my teenage daughter's room, but she doesn't have a TV in there. She has her iPhone. She is cracking up and Dan and Phil on YouTube. I asked her what is that, some television show? "No, dad, it's these two hilarious guys in England!"

"Oh," I said.

My daughter loves comedy. But if I told her to watch "Blazing Saddles" or "Annie Hall" she would roll her eyes and reply, "Two whole hours? For a comedy?"

YouTube is, today, the King of Comedy. Prove it? Ok, one word: Cat Videos. (Ok, that's two words). But, everyone who has a mobile phone and a YouTube channel is a comedian these days.

Me? I slave away for weeks and months at a time writing an elaborate story with plot points, and in-depth characters, and the mean, boss (always funny, no matter how you use it), and kids who didn't spend $100K to go to a fancy, shmancy film school post something they shot in their pajamas (it could even be THEM in their pajamas) and it gets a gazillion hits.

Remember the Chewbacca Lady? Yes, it was funny. But she didn't go to film school.

Now, I'm not saying I'm an elite comedian (I know, that is the title of this post), but damnit, I read Syd Field's book three times! And I studied comedy!

The only thing I can grasp is that the Chewbacca Lady and the countless cate videos online, are not masterpieces that will be watched over and over again, like "Annie Hall" or "Airplane" or "Young Frankenstein". So, fine, go ahead and upload your silly video, see if I care! I refuse to do it... for now.

 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page